Throughout this trip…

Throughout this trip I’ve learned more than I’ve ever learned in school.

I knew some things about my culture, but the people we’ve come in contact with opened my eyes to so much that I should have already known about. I came into OU not knowing anything about the Jewish culture, but I had nothing to worry about.  All the Jewish kids answered every question that I asked. I even enjoyed every Shabbat services.  I danced, prayed, and even attempted to learn Hebrew…it was so much fun. Despite the differences I really enjoyed everything, I feel like we are a family now. We check on one another to make sure everything is okay, tried new things, and really came out of our comfort zones.  So as I conclude I know for a fact that this is not the end, its actually a new beginning to our journey called life.

Kirstin Kearns, Strawberry Mansion High School, OU 2010

Throughout this trip I’ve learned more than I’ve ever learned in school. I knew somethings about my culture, but the people we’ve came in contact with open my eyes to so much that I should have already known about. I came into OU not knowing anything about the Jewish culture, but I had nothing to worry about. All the Jewish kids answered every question that I asked. I even enjoyed every shabbat service, I danced, prayed, an even attempted to learn Hebrew…it was so fun. Despite the differences I really enjoyed the everything, I feel like we are a family now. We check on one another to make sure everythings okay, tried new things, an really came out of our comfort zone. So as I conclude I know for a fact that this is not the end, its actually a new begining to our journey called life.

Kirstin

Leave a Reply

